Hallmark H-E-L-P!

HELLO EVERYONE-GREAT SITE YOU HAVE HERE

im new to collecting sterling/silver, and need some help identifying some hallmarks, and have a couple of questions

firstly, i recently purchased this sterling cigarette case on ebay. IMHO i got a very good price on it ( $100.00)…it weighs exactly 7 1/4OZ on my precious metals digital scale ( i generally collect gold, and i am a gold prospector. the scale i have is very accurate…in silver weight at todays price its worth about $94-$95 in silver bullion weight )

the piece doesnt have the traditional “button” type release to open it, the case halves silde sideways of each other about 1/4 inch and the case pops open. the interior is guilded gold. here are a few of pictures

now, my question is this. i know that the anchor and lion mean , but i cant find any information on the specific style of “A” in the photograph

every single piece on this item is hallmarked , incluuding the piece that originally held the cigarette’s down. under the cigarette hold down strap, there is another mark, a stamped “B” on the half that has the cigarette hold down strap.

plus, if you look closely, this piece had a hallmark removed before the interior was guilded. i know its not very visible, but the gold interior is polished so brightly that i cant get a good photo

why would the maker remove a hallmark?..even with a 40X loope, i cant make out what the hallmark was.

anyway, any help you can give me on identifying the maker, year,etc would be greatly appreciated

i found a spot on the net and dated it 1950, but why woulkd the makers mark be removed, and whats the b?

wow

i guess this wasnt a site thats to active afterall

We’re antiques dealers! We’re not in a rush! If you worked a bit more slowly, you might have better spelling!

Anyway, you are right about the date of the piece.

Regarding the rubbed maker’s mark…